Sydney Writers' Festival: The Great Divide
May
30
11:30 am11:30

Sydney Writers' Festival: The Great Divide

  • Hickson Road Barangaroo, NSW, 2000 Australia

As they attempt to navigate a world beset by political instability, climate change and economic insecurity, it turns out the best-educated, most connected generation ever isn’t getting it all handed to them on a platter. Griffith Review co-editor Julianne Schultz talks to Yassmin Abdel-Magied, Brigid Delaney, Briohny Doyle and Jack Manning Bancroft about a system stacked against the younger generation.

Free! Pier 2/3 Club Stage

Sydney Writers' Festival: Cultural Capital
May
26
11:30 am11:30

Sydney Writers' Festival: Cultural Capital

  • Hickson Road Barangaroo, NSW, 2000 Australia

Established and emerging writers continue the ongoing national conversation about the viability of art as a living. ‘Attack magazine’ The Lifted Brow is responding to Simon Birmingham’s statement about creative fields as being a ‘lifestyle choice’ by releasing a ‘capital’ issue. The University of Sydney’s Beth Yahp talks to Briohny Doyle Adult Fantasy, Miles Franklin Award winner Frank Moorhouse and Fiona Wright Small Acts of Disappearance about how Australian writers make a living, the state of our cultural landscape and an artist’s place in it.

Free! Sydney Dance 1

Sydney Writers' Festival: It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World: Visions of Dystopia
May
25
1:30 pm13:30

Sydney Writers' Festival: It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World: Visions of Dystopia

  • Sydney Dance 1

Dystopian fiction imagines worlds where dictatorships, environmental ruin, reproductive regulation and draconian immigration laws reign. But what happens when the real world starts to look startlingly similar? Authors Sally Abbott Closing Down, James Bradley The Silent Invasion and Briohny Doyle The Island Will Sink join Maria Lewis to discuss the power of dystopian fiction. Can it help us process changes in our world? And what lessons can the uprisings of dystopian fiction teach?

FREE!

 

Launch of The Griffith Review Millennial Edition
May
15
7:30 pm19:30

Launch of The Griffith Review Millennial Edition

In Griffith Review’s Millennial Edition, guest editor Jerath Head has invited young writers to lend their sophisticated critiques to the culture they’ve grown into. They include Briohny Doyle, whose story addresses wistful dreams of real estate ownership despite her scant prospects; Yassmin Abdel-Magied, who writes of the contrast between her activism and that of her parents; and Timmah Ball, whose piece deals with racism, ‘corporate feminism’ and the inspiration of Indigenous women who’ve come before her.

In their essays, each writer deals with the question of how millennials can find their place in a time of massive change, and a fraught, difficult world. Join them for a chat about writing and coming of age in the 21st Century.

Briohny Doyle in conversation at Fitzroy Library
Nov
16
6:30 pm18:30

Briohny Doyle in conversation at Fitzroy Library

  • Fitzroy Library

Briohny Doyles’ acclaimed debut The Island Will Sink is a gripping postmodern novel set in dystopian future, in the vein of Michel Houellebecq and Phillip K. Dick. Join Briohny in a Q&A to discuss the book's themes and influences. 

Bookings essential. You do not need to bring a ticket with you to this event. 

Sydney launch of THE ISLAND WILL SINK
Oct
6
6:30 pm18:30

Sydney launch of THE ISLAND WILL SINK

  • Better Read Than Dead
Join The Lifted Brow and Briohny Doyle for the Sydney launch of her novel The Island Will Sink. Local writer Aden Rolfe will officially launch the book. It’s free to attend, the drinks are on us, and the book can be purchased on the night.

The Island Will Sink reveals an eerily familiar future, one where EcoLaw is enforced by insidious cartoon panda bears and their armies of viral-marketing children, and where Max Galleon, anxious family man and blockbuster auteur, lives a life that he cannot remember. With this gripping postmodern novel in the vein of Michel Houellebecq and Phillip K. Dick, Briohny Doyle gives us a glimpse of a grave new world we all might soon face.
Brisbane launch of THE ISLAND WILL SINK, at Brisbane Writers Festival
Sep
9
Sep 11

Brisbane launch of THE ISLAND WILL SINK, at Brisbane Writers Festival

  • THE PARLOUR, State Library of Queensland

Join The Lifted Brow and Briohny Doyle for the Brisbane launch of her novel The Island Will Sink. Celebrated local author Ellen van Neerven will officially launch the book, and will also host a Q&A with Briohny. 

The drinks are on us, the book can be purchased on the night and it's free to attend - but book in to reserve your spot before places run out.

Friday 9th September
6:00–7:00pm

If you can't make the launch, you can order the book from Avid Reader or directly from The Lifted Brow.

'Asia Pacific Narratives' at the Melbourne Writers Festival
Sep
3
5:30 pm17:30

'Asia Pacific Narratives' at the Melbourne Writers Festival

  • ACMI 'The Cube'

What does it mean to live in the Asia Pacific in a literary context? Join Briohny Doyle, Cath FerlaRajith Savanadasa and Lawrence Lacambra Ypil as they discuss how connections between Asia and Australia have influenced their narratives and writing voices.

 

Festival launch of THE ISLAND WILL SINK
Aug
27
3:00 pm15:00

Festival launch of THE ISLAND WILL SINK

  • Beer DeLuxe

Please join us at the Melbourne Writers Festival to toast the launch of The Island Will Sink. Melbourne International Film Festival director Michelle Carey will be launching the book and hosting a conversation with Briohny, followed by much revelry and merriment.

Saturday 27 August
3:00–4:00pm

If you can't make the launch, you can pre-order the book from Readings or directly from The Lifted Brow.

'Where It Starts' panel at the Bendigo Writers Festival
Aug
14
1:45 pm13:45

'Where It Starts' panel at the Bendigo Writers Festival

  • 58 View Street Bendigo, VIC, 3550 Australia

How does a writer hit upon the idea for a novel?

Is it happenstance and the work of a moment?

Or is it a long process of fossicking for the nugget in stony ground?

Briohny Doyle, Peggy Frew, and Kate Mildenhall talk to Penelope Curtin about where they found the inspiration for their books.

Three writers at the beginning of their writing careers talk about the moment when they knew they were on the right track… and what came next.

'Make It New' panel at the Bendigo Writers Festival
Aug
13
11:45 am11:45

'Make It New' panel at the Bendigo Writers Festival

  • 58 View Street Bendigo, VIC, 3550 Australia

Where do young and emerging writers go to get support to develop new ways of writing? Editors and writers Sam Cooney, Briohny Doyle and Lauren Mitchell talk to Sue Gillett about finding and making opportunities. Is there still a readership for avant-garde writing? Have the rules changed? Are there any rules left in a post-print age?

Talking Pictures - Speakers' Corner: Briohny Doyle on J.G. Ballard's HIGH-RISE
Aug
8
5:30 pm17:30

Talking Pictures - Speakers' Corner: Briohny Doyle on J.G. Ballard's HIGH-RISE

  • ACMI (Fed Square)

Listen to a panel of experts discuss an array of discussion topics stemming from this year’s festival films. We will hear a range of divergent topics from time travel, to gender inequality, to political campaigning – who knows where the conversation will lead?

Briohny Doyle will be speaking about J.G. Ballard's novel High-Rise MIFF are showing Ben Wheatley's adaptation in this year's festival.

Speakers' Corner is moderated by Rhys Graham.